21 Comments
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Hookland

Thank you for Hookland, from the bottom of my heart and the depths of my bones.

Expand full comment

This is wonderful; a haven of enchantment. Very many thanks, David.

Expand full comment

Hookland in long-form. I love it.

Expand full comment

This is everything I hoped it would be (Hookland, but longer) and I look forward to seeing how it progresses.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Hookland

So glad to be here. Powers, as ever, to your elbow.

Expand full comment

It's great to get stuck into a Hookland read that's more than 280 characters. Excellent :)

Expand full comment

Congratulations on being able to break beyond the artificial bonds of character limits and fly with the wings of dreams.

This is marvellous and enchanting, I look forward to reading much more about Hookland and its inhabitants

Expand full comment

I very much enjoyed the format and content

May Hookland endure

Expand full comment

This convinced me to set up a substack account. Many thanks!

Expand full comment

This is a wonderful thing. Thank you for the long form Hookland. It is wonderful to inhabit it a while longer.

Expand full comment

“Despite the idea pushed by a few numpties that folk horror lives only in rural America, Scandinavia and Britain, some of the best film and TV in the genre currently comes from Korea, North Africa and Eastern Europe.“

I love this. More people should seek out other folk horror - so many cultures full of broad bestiaries and haunted history are overlooked.

Expand full comment

As ever, much love and admiration for your discovery/stewardship/guiding-beaconry of this remarkable place.

Not baconry. No. None of that.

Expand full comment

Nicely done! And, yes, Hookland at greater than 280 characters is a treat.

Expand full comment

Very enjoyable and informative.

Expand full comment

Thank you for this and for all of Hookland. It is a pleasure to read your writing in this longer form. For what it is worth, I'm loitering on twitter for a little longer but I've had worse content promoted to me on multiple occasions in the last couple of days than I have in years. It wouldn't take much for me to go, certainly if you were to call it a day that would be enough.

Expand full comment

Such a nice newsletter. I'm happy to receive it. My thoughts have been on the topic of reciprocity lately. I don't know if Hookland connects to other places via earthen tunnels or cosmic wormholes, but let me know if there's anything I can offer from Taiwan.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment